Being in New York for NYFW is probably the best thing that has ever happened to me.  I wasn’t able to attend any of the “cool” shows, but I was able to see a presentation and a runway show, while also spending all of my free time streaming the shows online at nyfw.com/live.  That is where I saw the genius of Oscar de la Renta come to life.  In my humble opinion, OSCAR DE LA RENTA WINS NYFW hands down.  I was screaming at my laptop while each model walked by in a new look.  The designers for Oscar de la Renta merged the collection with the other one they designed for Monse into one show, which I found to be pretty strange…  The Monse collection was more modern and edgy while the Oscar de la Renta collection was more true to itself.  Bridget Foley of WWD wrote in her review, “The contrast set up an obvious, uncomfortable dichotomy: One collection felt forward thinking and idiosyncratic; the other, unintentionally retro, mired in the past.  There’s no other way to say it: The Oscar de la Renta collection looked old.” I don’t think the Oscar de la Renta collection felt old, I thought it represented the label to a T.  The bright colors and the clean finishes spoke to me.  I could see hints of many different decades here: the 20s with the large, boxy overcoats that hide the woman’s silhouette; the 30s with the long gowns that accentuate the chest and shoulders; the 40s with the suit pairings for a professional style; the 60s with the mini dresses and bright, fun colors.  The black and white looks are simply classic.  The Monse collection definitely had the “forward thinking” vibe and seemed to be the complete opposite of Oscar de la Renta.

(Photos from WWD)

My second favorite collection (it’s hard only picking two because there were SO many amazing collections this season) was done by Naeem Khan.  This was another collection that I was giddy/screaming/gasping about.  It was all so different yet it still worked together in harmony.  The contemporary, red-carpet-ready vibe had brought some feels of the 20s art deco with metallic fabrics and geometric details, as well as the 70s in fun patterns and colors.

(Photos from GPS Radar)

! ! ! TREND REPORT ! ! !

FUR! ❤

Friend or faux? Fur has been trending for awhile and seems as though it will only become more popular.  It’s rad and gives a garment/outfit a look of elegance, sophistication, and wealth.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Photos from GPS Radar)

PLAID! ❤

Bring back the grunge!  Plaid wins in any game it plays.  It’s casual and brings a ruggedness to whatever is paired with it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Photos from GPS Radar)

FLOUNCE! </3

Oh, flounce… I’ve never liked you.  This feminine detail is too much for me and this trend needs to go.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Photos from GPS Radar)

